Secure Embedded and Smart Things Laboratory(SETTLOR)



Secure Embedded and Smart things Laboratory,
1st Floor, Interdisaplinary Center for Cyber Security and Cyber Defence of Critical Infrastructure,
Indian Institute of Technology Kanpur,
UP-208016, India

Research Interests

At Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, under the name of Secure Embedded and Smart Things Laboratory(SETTLOR),we have started working since March 2021 on several aspects of hardware and embedded system security. The major aspects in which we are currently focusing on are as follows:

  • Physical Unclonable Functions based authentication of ‘Smart’ things
  • Machine Learning Attacks on Physical Unclonable Functions
  • Unmanned Aerial Vehicles (UAVs) security
  • Far Field Side Channel Analysis of Mixed Signal Chips
  • Screen Reading TEMPEST Attacks
  • Acoustic Side Channel Attacks on Embedded Systems
  • Network Data Remanence Based Side Channel Attacks
  • Currently four Ph.D, seven M.Tech and two undergraduate students are working in the laboratory. We also have a Post-Doctoral Researcher working with us who is a Ph.D. from IIT Indore. Our research highly thrives on the inter-disciplinary topics such hardware security, communication protocol design and analysis, basic principles of ‘Smart’ technologies for Internet of Things and Cyber-Physical Systems and machine learning. We not only engage ourselves in experimental works, but also focus on the theoretical validation of the same. The publications related to our focus areas can be found next.


    1). S. Gade, U. Chatterjee, D. Mukhopadhyay, PAKAMAC: A PUF-based Keyless Automotive Entry System with Mutual Authentication. J Hardw Syst Secur (2022). Link

    2). A. Agrawal, U. Chatterjee, and R.R. Maiti. 2022. KTRACKER: Passively Tracking KRACK using ML Model. In Proceedings of the Twelfth ACM Conference on Data and Application Security and Privacy (CODASPY '22). Association for Computing Machinery, New York, NY, USA, 364–366. Link

    3). A. Saha, U. Chatterjee, D. Mukhopadhyay and R. S. Chakraborty, "DIP Learning on CAS-Lock: Using Distinguishing Input Patterns for Attacking Logic Locking," 2022 Design, Automation & Test in Europe Conference & Exhibition (DATE), 2022, pp. 688-693, doi: 10.23919/DATE54114.2022.9774691.Link

    4). S. Ghosh, U. Chatterjee, D. Chatterjee, R. Masburah, D. Mukhopadhyay, S. Dey (2021). Demand Manipulation Attack Resilient Privacy Aware Smart Grid Using PUFs and Blockchain. In: , et al. Applied Cryptography and Network Security Workshops. ACNS 2021. Lecture Notes in Computer Science(), vol 12809. Springer, Cham.

    5). C. K. Chaudhary, U. Chatterjee and D. Mukhopadhayay, "Auto-PUFChain: An Automated Interaction Tool for PUFs and Blockchain in Electronic Supply Chain," 2021 Asian Hardware Oriented Security and Trust Symposium (AsianHOST), 2021, pp. 1-4, doi: 10.1109/AsianHOST53231.2021.9699720.Link

    6). D. Chatterjee, U. Chatterjee, D. Mukhopadhyay and A. Hazra, "SACReD: An Attack Framework on SAC Resistant Delay-PUFs leveraging Bias and Reliability Factors," 2021 58th ACM/IEEE Design Automation Conference (DAC), 2021, pp. 85-90, doi: 10.1109/DAC18074.2021.9586249.Link

    7). H. Mondal and U. Chatterjee, "Revisiting UAV Authentication Schemes: Practical Attacks on Aviation Infrastructure," 2021 Asian Hardware Oriented Security and Trust Symposium (AsianHOST), 2021, pp. 1-6, doi: 10.1109/AsianHOST53231.2021.9699695. Link

    8). P. Naik, U. Chatterjee (2022). Network Data Remanence Side Channel Attack on SPREAD, H-SPREAD and Reverse AODV. In: Batina, L., Picek, S., Mondal, M. (eds) Security, Privacy, and Applied Cryptography Engineering. SPACE 2021. Lecture Notes in Computer Science, vol 13162. Springer, Cham. Link


    1. Dr Urbi Chatterjee
    Institute Post Doctoral Fellow
    1. Mahendra Rathor : 2022-Till Now
    Ph.D. Students
    1. Oswa Amro
    2. Vishesh Mishra
    3. Neelofer Hassan
    4. Sumit Lal
    M.Tech Students(2023)
    1. Anuj Shrivastava
    2. Manthan Kojage
    3. Prujwal Thaka
    4. Mayuresh Shandilya
    5. Deepak Kumar
    6. Akash Panzade
    7. Abhishek Revskar
    M.Tech Students(2022)
    1. Hirak Mondal
    2. Chandan Kumar
    3. Swapnil Gade
    4. Pushpraj Naik